Country Listing

Philippines Table of Contents


National Government


Figure 8. Structure of the National Government, 1991

Under the Constitution, the government is divided into executive, legislative, and judicial departments. The separation of powers is based on the theory of checks and balances. The presidency is not as strong as it was under the 1973 constitution. Local governments are subordinated to the national government (see fig. 8).

Data as of June 1991