Country Listing

United Arab Emirates Table of Contents

United Arab Emirates


Government: Federation of seven amirates, as defined in 1971 provisional constitution. Powers divided between federal and amirate governments. Head of state is UAE president, Shaykh Zayid ibn Sultan Al Nuhayyan, chosen by Supreme Council of the Union composed of rulers of seven amirates. Federal National Council has consultative function.

Politics: No political parties. Amirs and their families, particularly those of Abu Dhabi and Dubayy, most important political actors; technocrats and commercial interests play lesser role.

Foreign Relations: Member of United Nations, League of Arab States, Organization of the Islamic Conference, Gulf Cooperation Council, Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries, and Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries.

Data as of January 1993