Country Listing

Venezuela Table of Contents




Formal Name: Republic of Venezuela.

Short Form: Venezuela.

Term for Citizens: Venezuelan(s).

Capital: Caracas.


Size: Approximately 912,050 square kilometers.

Topography: Four well-defined regions--Maracaibo lowlands in the northwest, northern mountains stretching from Colombian border along the Caribbean Sea, central Orinoco plains (llanos), and Guiana highlands in southeast.

Climate: Varies from tropical humid to alpine depending on elevation, topography, and prevailing winds. Rainy season for most regions runs from May through November.

Data as of December 1990