Country Listing

Yugoslavia Table of Contents


Federal Assembly

The 1974 Constitution divided the Federal Assembly into two chambers, the Federal Chamber and the Chamber of Republics and Provinces (see fig. 13). The former contained thirty representatives from each republic, and twenty from each province. Representatives were chosen from among delegates elected by organizations such as communes and institutions at the lowest level of the system, giving the chamber elements of a grass-roots constituency. Members of assemblies below the federal level were not eligible for the Federal Chamber. Voting in the Federal Chamber was by simple majority, and the chamber considered all issues where federal authority had an impact on any local organization. Although originally intended to represent individuals and local organizations, delegates tended to vote according to instructions from their respective regional governments.

The Chamber of Republics and Provinces was elected by the assemblies of the republics and provinces. It included twelve delegates from each republic and eight from each province. Voting was by delegation, and unanimity was required on all interregional questions. This requirement meant that all eight political jurisdictions had veto power in any vote. All interregional issues with federal jurisdiction were considered in this chamber. Proposals were forwarded to the assemblies of the republics involved, for formation of the regional position that would determine the bloc vote of the national delegation.

Data as of December 1990