Country Listing

Czechoslovakia Table of Contents



In 1987 the government structure was based on the amended 1960 Constitution, which identifies the Czechoslovak Socialist Republic as a federative state of two equal fraternal nations. The Constitution stipulates the creation of separate government structures for the Czech Socialist Republic, located in Prague, and the Slovak Socialist Republic, situated in Bratislava. These republic governments share responsibility with the federal government in areas such as planning, finance, currency, price control, agriculture and food, transportation, labor, wages, social policy, and the media. The central government, located in Prague, has exclusive jurisdiction over foreign policy, international relations, defense, federal stockpiles, federal legislation and administration, and the federal judicial system.

Government institutions in Czechoslovakia perform legislative, executive, and judicial functions. The Constitution clearly defines the responsibilities for making and implementing policy that each branch of government holds. In reality, however, all decisions of state are made by the communist party. Government organs exist purely to administer the party program.

Data as of August 1987