Country Listing

Ecuador Table of Contents


Ranks, Insignia, and Uniforms


Figure 19. Officer Ranks and Insignia, 1989


Figure 20. Enlisted Ranks and Insignia, 1989

The rank structure of the armed forces generally conformed to that used in the United States, except that Ecuador did not employ all of the ranks found in the United States military. The army and air force had nine officer ranks ranging from second lieutenant to general. The navy had eight officer ranks from ensign to vice admiral (see fig. 19). Army enlisted personnel had seven grades ranging in level from private to sergeant major, air force enlistees had seven grades ranging from airman to chief master sergeant, and naval enlistees had eight grades from the equivalent of seaman to master chief petty officer (see fig. 20).

Rank insignia for officers of the army and air force were a series of five-pointed stars on shoulder boards. Insignia for general, lieutenant general, and major general consisted of four, three, and two gold stars, respectively, with gold-braided borders and the national crest. Field-grade officers wore gold stars, and company-grade officers wore silver stars on shoulder boards. Naval officers wore gold stripes indicating rank on the lower sleeve of the blouse. Army and air force enlisted personnel wore red and yellow stripes, respectively, and the navy red or yellow stripes, as appropriate, on shoulder boards or upper sleeve of the uniform.

The three services had dress, semi-dress, service, and field uniforms for officers and dress, service, and field uniforms for enlisted personnel. The army winter service uniform consisted of a gray blouse and trousers, white shirt, and black tie. Air force winter service uniforms were light blue, whereas those for the navy were navy blue and white. The armed forces also had summer uniforms.

Data as of 1989