Country Listing

Jordan Table of Contents




Figure 10. Government Organization, 1989

The Constitution divides the powers and functions of the government into executive, legislative, and judicial categories (see fig. 10). The Constitution assigns the legislative power to both the bicameral National Assembly and the king, who is also vested with executive power. The king exercises his executive authority with the aid of his cabinet ministers, collectively known as the Council of Ministers. Judicial power is vested in independent courts. The authority and services of the central government are extended to all corners of the kingdom through the eight governorates or provinces.

Data as of December 1989