Country Listing

Madagascar Table of Contents



Formal Name: Republic of Madagascar.

Short Name: Madagascar.

Term for Citizens: Malagasy.

Capital: Antananarivo.

Date of Independence: June 26, 1960.


Size: 587,040 square kilometers.

Topography: East coast has lowlands leading to steep bluffs and central highlands; Tsaratanana Massif in north with volcanic mountains; west coast with many protected harbors and broad plains; and southwest with plateau and desert region.

Climate: Two seasons: hot, rainy from November to April; cooler, dry season from May to October; southeastern trade winds dominate; occasional cyclones.

Data as of August 1994