Country Listing

Azerbaijan Table of Contents


Within the Russian Empire


Sixteenth-century palace of the Sheki khans, Sheki
Courtesy Jay Kempen

Beginning in the early eighteenth century, Russia slowly asserted political domination over the northern part of Azerbaijan, while Persia retained control of southern Azerbaijan. In the nineteenth century, the division between Russian and Persian Azerbaijan was largely determined by two treaties concluded after wars between the two countries. The Treaty of Gulistan (1813) established the Russo-Persian border roughly along the Aras River, and the Treaty of Turkmanchay (1828) awarded Russia the Nakhichevan khanates (along the present-day border between Armenia and Turkey) in the region of the Talysh Mountains. The land that is now Azerbaijan was split among three Russian administrative areas--Baku and Elizavetpol provinces and part of Yerevan Province, which also extended into present-day Armenia.

Data as of March 1994